Marathon Man(iac)

Now that I have had time to think about it, and my various aching body parts have had time to become slightly less aching, I wish to recant my comment on the “Marathon Man” post. I am in a big rush to do it again. I feel that I have unfinished business.

True, my first goal: to finish the marathon, was reached. However, my second goal, finishing under four hours, was not achieved (4 hrs, 8 min, 57 sec). What’s worse, for the first time in a race, despite giving it everything I had, I feel that I could have done better. While I finished strongly in the half marathon I all but fell over the line at the end of the marathon. Had I prepared properly, bitten the bullet and gone on those 30+ km training runs my body may have been better prepared to withstand the buffeting it received. Even as late as the 40 km mark I could still have got under the magic four hours, if things hadn’t fallen completely apart.

Over the previous months I had been making slow but steady progress. By gradually increasing the distance from 5 km to 10 km to 15 km and finally to 21 km (the half marathon) the runs ceased to be a painful struggle but something that could be enjoyed and accomplished with relative ease. Jumping from my previous longest run of 24 km all the way to 42 km was always destined to be doomed to failure. But I did not want to put in the work or the effort. During the marathon I saw a friend of mine running with what looked to be very little fuss and bother, but then he spent numerous weeks in the lead up running 30-35 km every Sunday. The result? He finished in 3 hrs, 10 min.

I should feel proud of my achievement, and I do, but something still nags and gnaws at me, something unfulfilled. The prospect of doing it all again, including the much more rigorous training program, certainly seems daunting at the moment and only time will tell if I decide to have another crack or leave it all to lie where it fell and move on to my next bizarre challenge (climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro, I think).

Dr. F. Bunny

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by janeykate on 25/10/2013 - 10:39 pm

    This is always the case with the challenges we set ourselves! I walked the Yorkshire Three Peaks challenge, just to see if I could, and although I finished it well within the challenge time, I knew I could have done it faster if I had done some some training (I’m fairly fit anyway, so it’s not like I just went out and attempted it without having previously done any exercise!). And ever since, I’ve been thinking that I should go back and do it properly, or do the National three peaks, or something even more testing. If you are the kind of person who likes to challenge themselves, then you are always going to think you could do faster, or longer or better or bigger! But you should not forget that what you did was pretty amazing in its own right!
    Jane x

  2. #2 by Joey on 26/10/2013 - 4:37 am

    You’re knowing you could have done better…yep, you’re hooked!

  3. #3 by vetsbeyondreason on 27/10/2013 - 12:12 pm

    Thanks very much, Jane. And I think I am well and truly hooked, which is pretty amazing considering I used to absolutely hate running.

Leave a Reply

