They Are All Dead, Dave

Lister: Where is everyone Hol?

Holly: They’re dead Dave.

Lister: Who is?

Holly: Everybody Dave.

Lister: What Captain Holister?

Holly: Everybody’s dead Dave.

Lister: What Todd Hunter?

Holly: Everybody’s dead Dave.

Lister: What Selby?

Holly: They’re all dead, everybody’s dead Dave.

Lister: Peterson isn’t, is he?

Holly: Everybody is dead Dave.

Lister: Not Chen?

Holly: Gorden Bennet, yes Chen, everybody, everybody’s dead Dave.

Lister: Rimmer?

Holly: He’s dead Dave, everybody’s dead, everybody is dead Dave.

Lister: Wait, are you trying to tell me everybody’s dead? (Red Dwarf: The End)

I find the great problem with getting older is not so much the realisation of my own mortality but that of everyone else’s. The older I get the more colleagues seem to drop off the perch. Mentors, advisors, friends, teachers, (mother, Lou Reed) who have been there my entire life (or feel like they have) are suddenly gone. Obviously no one lives forever but it still comes as a shock when someone who seems to have been there forever, existing as a guiding light and force for stability, is no more. My incredulity is especially great when I was talking with them at a conference only a few days/weeks/months before. This disbelief seems trite but is no less real for having been expressed many times before.

Dr. F. Bunny

“There’s a bit of magic in everything and then some loss to even things out.” (Lou Reed)

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by mylatinnotebook on 31/10/2013 - 1:57 am

    Yes, I am surprised when people I know die, as they always remain the age they were when I met them. As if knowing me somehow freezes them in time. How egotistical is that?!

  2. #2 by vetsbeyondreason on 04/11/2013 - 4:05 pm

    Not at all. I feel the same way. I am always very surprised by how much someone I have not seen for a while has changed. Mind you, I look at old photos of myself and have trouble believing it really is me.

Leave a Reply

