I Do It Because I Like It

Unfortunately I can be one of those people who emerge from the gym feeling decidedly smug about the great workout I just completed and how I am adding years to my life through regular exercise and a reasonable diet. While it can be fun to rub my less active friends’ noses into all that health and vitality it really is just a happy coincidence. Perversely, I really wander around lifting heavy objects because I enjoy doing it. I tend to avoid hamburgers and fish and chips because I don’t find them particularly tasty. The fact that I am also doing things that are good for my health is really just an added bonus, and I suspect most people who spend their weekends running, cycling, and canoeing really do it because they love it, and those who spend their weekends lying on the couch with a beer and a packet of chips do so because they don’t enjoy being active. How else can you explain all those people who constantly take out new gym memberships only to see their gym clothes gathering dust in the closet after a month or so? No matter the intention, if you don’t enjoy it you are very unlikely to persist with it, whatever it is.

Unfortunately this holds true for me too. I have read no end of articles about the benefits of meditation and mindfulness. I have attempted it on numerous occasions but find it difficult and don’t enjoy it. My current record stands at three days in a row before I let it lapse again, and not because I don’t have the time. Who can’t find ten minutes a day for a quick meditate? The person who does not enjoy it, that’s who. I would much rather take out the garbage, clean out the chooks or scrub the fish tank, even though I know the value of meditation.

I guess the key is to find things you enjoy that, by coincidence or design, are also good for you. Then you too can act smugly and pretend your activity requires enormous willpower and you are only doing it because it promotes your wellbeing.

Dr. F. Bunny

 

, , , ,

  1. #1 by intuitivemeditation on 11/10/2014 - 3:36 am

    (Have you tried meditating while you work out?) You are probably already doing it. I do not subscribe (shh don’t tell the experts) to the fact that you must sit regularly. Just pay attention to your workout instead of other stuff I’m your head. Ta da. Meditation.

  2. #2 by vetsbeyondreason on 14/10/2014 - 10:00 am

    Thanks for the tip. I tried it and it worked a treat. I suppose anything that forces you to clear your mind and focus on one thing only could be called meditation. It’s probably why I always found surgery to be relaxing.

  3. #3 by intuitivemeditation on 14/10/2014 - 3:05 pm

    You just made my day! Thanks!

Leave a comment